Western Heritage Awards

Save the Date: April 21 – 22, 2017

Honor and encourage the legacy of those whose works in literature, music, film, and television reflect the significant stories of the American West. An awards program recognizes inductees into the prestigious Hall of Great Westerners and the Hall of Great Western Performers, as well as the recipient of the Chester A. Reynolds Memorial Award, named in honor of the Museum’s founder. Each honoree receives a Wrangler, an impressive bronze sculpture of a cowboy on horseback. Reservations required; contact jgentry@nationalcowboymuseum.org, or by calling (405) 478-2250, ext. 219.

 Click here to view and download the 2017 Western Heritage Award Entry Form.

The deadline for literary submissions is November 30, 2016. The deadline for all other materials is December 31, 2016.



Look who attended in 2016! Don’t miss this star-studded event.

Promo-Wy-1 anson
Wynonna Judd, Western Heritage Awards Presenter Anson Mount, Western Heritage Awards Emcee



Jackson Clark III (2)To enhance the Western Heritage Awards and special exhibition, Revision: Contemporary Navajo Weavings from the Pam Parrish Collection, third-generation trader Jackson Clark II, owner of the respected Toh-Atin Gallery, showcases more than 100 dazzling colors, patterns, and craftsmanship in contemporary and antique weavings ranging in value from $100 to $10,000.

At any time during the Silent Auction, individuals may purchase a rug at 20% over the minimum if it does not have an earlier bid. Proceeds from the sale support the Museum’s exhibitions and programs.

No advanced registration is required. Free with day-of registration at the door. Click here to download the schedule of events.



 Presenting Sponsor:

AEP logo



Major Support:



Made possible in part by our members of the Western Heritage Society





Photo Gallery

  • wha 2016 dinner cs_3448 Edit
  • wha 2016 dinner cs_3446 Edit
  • wha 2016 dinner cs_3445 Edit
  • wha 2016 dinner cs_3439 Edit
  • wha 2016 dinner cs_3428 Edit
  • wha 2016 cs_2204 Edit
  • wha 2016 cs_2195 Edit
  • wha 2016 cs_2183 Edit
  • wha 2016 cs_2186 Edit
  • wha 2016 cs_2181 Edit
  • wha 2016 cs_2172 Edit

Search Winners