• It's Thursday 9:01 AMSorry, we're closed

About the Museum

The National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum is America’s premier institution of Western history, art and culture. Founded in 1955, the Museum, located in Oklahoma City, collects, preserves and exhibits an internationally renowned collection of Western art and artifacts while sponsoring dynamic educational programs to stimulate interest in the enduring legacy of the American West.

More than 10 million visitors from around the world have sought out this unique museum to gain better understanding of the West: a region and a history that permeates our national culture. The Museum features a superb collection of classic and contemporary Western art, including works by Frederic Remington and Charles M. Russell, as well as sculptor James Earle Fraser’s magnificent work, The End of the Trail. The exhibition wing houses a turn-of-the-century town and interactive history galleries that focus on the American cowboy, rodeos, Native American culture, Victorian firearms, frontier military and Western performers.

The National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum preserves and interprets the evolving history and cultures of the American West for the education and enrichment of its diverse audiences of adults and children.


Museum Board of Directors

Roger Simons, Chairman of the Board, Oklahoma

Henry A. “Hank” True III, Vice Chairman, Wyoming

Everett Dobson, Secretary, Oklahoma

Linda Mitchell Davis, Treasurer, New Mexico

Lynnette “Lynn” Friess, Immediate Past Chairman, Wyoming

Board Members
Gilbert Aguirre, California
Robert L. “Bob” Allee, Oklahoma
J.T. “Tom” Atherton, Oklahoma
Lance Benham, Oklahoma
Steve Beneto, California
Clayton I. “Clay” Bennett, Oklahoma
Gregory “Greg” Braddock, Texas
Stephen M. “Steve” Brophy, Arizona
Dr. Scott Calhoon, Oklahoma
Daniel “Dan” Corazzi, Pennsylvania
Steve Crowder, Oklahoma
Brent Cummings, Oklahoma
J.I. “Chip” Everest II, Michigan
Robert A. “Bob” Funk, Oklahoma
Orrin L. Gabsch, California
Michael Gaughan, Nevada
Patrick “Pat“ Grant, Colorado
E. Peter Hoffman, Oklahoma
Mike Ingram, Arizona
A.J. Jacques, Oklahoma
Cathy Keating, Oklahoma
Gary Kinslow, Oklahoma
S. Whitfield “Whitt” Lee, Utah
Nadine Levin, Maryland
Liz Minyard Lokey, Texas
Frank Love, Oklahoma
Wyatt McCrea, California
Frank G. Merrill, Texas
J. Larry Nichols, Oklahoma
Michael J. “Mike” Nicola, Colorado
Bobby Norris, Texas
Gary Pierson, Oklahoma
Susan J. Roeder, Texas
Wayne B. Rumley, Oklahoma
David Sibbald, Alberta, Canada
Gregory M. “Greg” Simon, California
Robert “Bob” Slater, Oklahoma
Sarah Stafford, Oklahoma
Rick Terry, Oklahoma
David Waits, Oklahoma
Gordon Whitener, Tennessee
Jerry Winchester, Oklahoma
John W. Wroten, Texas

Associate Board Members
C. Kendric “Ken” Fergeson, Associate Board Chairman, Oklahoma
Dr. Billy Bergin, Hawaii
Butch Bratsky, Montana
John D. Cresap, Oklahoma
Casey Fredericks, North Dakota
Judy J. Hatfield, Oklahoma
Robert S. Hughes II, Oklahoma
Dr. John Jameson, Oklahoma
Lincoln Lageson, California
Dan Lindstrom, Nebraska
Mark Linehan, California
Bert Madera, New Mexico
Mitchell E. McCrea, Texas
Lee M. Reeve, Kansas
Bradley “Brad“ Simons, Oklahoma
Anita La Cava Swift, California

Emeritus Directors
William “Bill” Atherton, Oklahoma
Keith E. Bailey, Oklahoma
Martin C. Dickinson, California
Thomas “Tom” Hayward, Illinois
Ed Hitchcock, Arizona
William G. “Bill” Kerr, Wyoming
Tom Love, Oklahoma
Anne W. Marion, Texas
Frank McPherson, Oklahoma
James “J.K.” Norfleet, North Carolina
Robert C. Norris, Colorado
E.J. “Ed” Parish, California
Mel Potter, Arizona
Gerald H. Timmerman, Nebraska


Adventure District
Adventure Road
WordPress Image Lightbox