• It's Sunday 8:57 PMSorry, we're closed

Ben Johnson Memorial Award

The Ben Johnson Award was first presented at the annual Rodeo Historical Society banquet in October, 1998 during the unveiling of a bronze image of Ben Johnson mounted on his favorite horse. The bronze, sculpted by California artist Mehl Lawson, is permanently located in the Museum’s American Rodeo Gallery. The annual award is presented to a living person who has been involved in the rodeo industry for a number of years and has contributed to the growth and betterment of pro-rodeo. Involvement with youth and/or community activities also is a pre-requisite for the honor. And the recipient must be someone who, like Ben Johnson, creates a positive image for rodeo and the Western lifestyle.



Name State Vital Information Year Inducted
Beaver, Joe TX 1965 2014
Cervi, Mike CO 1936 2015
Clark, Doug OK 1962 2019
Cooke, A.J. "Jack" AZ,CA 1925-2008 2003
Decker, Tater OK 1924-2017 2013
Frost, Clyde OK 1933 2018
Garrison, Walt TX 1944 2011
Gay, Neal TX 1926 2009
Harrington, Don MT 1925-2013 2002
Ivory, Buster TX 1923-2003 1999
Mahan, Larry OR 1943 2007
McSpadden, Clem OK 1925-2008 1998
Minick, Billy TX 1939 2008
Oliver, Dean ID 1929 2010
Potter, Mel AZ 1935 2005
Riley, Kelly 2017
Roddy, Jack CA 1937 2016
Rosser, Cotton CA 1928 2006
Sheppard, Chuck AZ 1916-2005 2001
Shoulders, Jim OK 1928-2007 2004
Smith, Bill WY 1941 2012
Smith, Dale D. AZ 1928 2000
Adventure District
Adventure Road
WordPress Image Lightbox