Skip to content
National Rodeo Hall of Fame
Inducted in 2012
Brad Gjermundson

Brad Gjermundson


North Dakota

World Champion Saddle Bronc Rider (1981, 1983-1985)
Steer and Team Roper

Born in 1959 at Richardton, North Dakota, Brad Gjermundson began rodeoing in high school, competed in intercollegiate rodeo with Dickinson State College, and came to national attention in 1980 as the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association (PRCA) Rookie of the Year winner in saddle-bronc riding.

Throughout the 1980s and into the 1990s, Gjermundson established a sterling record in the sport’s classic contest. He qualified for the National Finals Rodeo (NFR) eight straight times (1981-1988) and again in 1994, capturing four World Champion Saddle Bronc Rider titles. He took the Badlands Circuit saddle-bronc championship six times; and won the Winston Rodeo Series, Coors Chute-Out, and Coca-Cola Winner’s Circle saddle-bronc honors once each. Along the way Gjermundson won saddle-bronc venue championships at Albuquerque three times, at Houston three times, at Calgary twice, at Reno twice, and at Ellensburg, Pendleton, Phoenix, Prescott, and Salinas.

Among many honors for his athletic ability and civic contributions, Brad Gjermundson was inducted into the North Dakota Sports Hall of Fame in 1994, the ProRodeo Hall of Fame in 1995, and received the Dickinson State University Young Hawk award in 1997.

More to Explore

Stay Connected

Sign up for our e-newsletter