• It's Tuesday 8:48 AMSorry, we're closed



Apple 150 150 ctx

Creator: Ed Apple
Dates: 1948-1998
Quantity: 1 inch
Accession: 1998.035


In 1948, Buddy Reger, Clem McSpadden, Larry Kilgore, Leo Roberts, Harold Emery, Turner Meadors, and Chuck Dancer skipped classes at Oklahoma State University (OSU) to participate in the first Cameron Aggie’s Club Intercollegiate Rodeo in Lawton, Oklahoma. Kilgore was crowned the Outstanding Cowboy of the rodeo. Fifty years later the president of OSU pardoned the seven rodeo enthusiasts absences in class that day because they represented the university in an exemplary way.

This collection contains three photographs of the seven cowboys in 1998 at their pardoning ceremony at OSU. It also contains an official document of pardon and a letter to Ed Apple from Harold Emery.

This collection was gifted to the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in 1998 by Ed Apple.

There are no restrictions on this collection. It is available for research.

Ed Apple Oklahoma State University Rodeo Participants Collection, 1948-1998, MS 035, Box # Folder #, Donald C. & Elizabeth M. Dickinson Research Center, National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

Box Folder Folder Title / Description
1 1 Letters and photographs, 1948-1998
Please follow and like us:
Adventure District
Adventure Road
WordPress Image Lightbox